• DECEMBER 04, 2022

Tamim to skip T20 series against NZ

Bangladesh opener Tamim Iqbal is wearing a helmet prior to his batting practice session. FILE PHOTO

  • Cricket
  • Staff Correspondent
  • Published: 19 Mar 2021, 04:38 PM

Bangladesh will suffer a huge blow yet another as they will miss the valuable service of the Tigers’ batting cog and its ODI captain Tamim Iqbal in the three-match T20I series after its globe-trotting all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan.

Tamim himself confirmed in a virtual conference on Thursday that he will not be available in the T20 international series for personal reasons.  

The T20 series is scheduled to kick-start after the upcoming three-match ODI series against host New Zealand.

“I spoke with the head coach and selectors before coming to New Zealand. I will not be in the T20 series for personal reasons. Best wishes for the team,” Tamim Iqbal said.

“The thing is that whenever we talk about the New Zealand series, the T20 series is also associated with it. As an ODI captain, I just want to win or do better in the ODI series, nothing like that. T20 series is also included with the tour,” Tamim told the media in a video message on Thursday.

However, there was a fear that the ODI skipper would not feature in the first ODI on 20th March in Dunedin because he is suffering from a hamstring injury. But Tamim’s injury is on the way to recovery. There was nothing wrong with the MRI report. Tamim himself said that he is optimistic about playing in the first ODI.

“(In the first ODI) the chances of playing are much higher. I have practiced well today. I will practice tomorrow too. I am optimistic to play in the first match,” he added.

Before Tamim, Ace all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan withdrew from the series to be with his child-bearing wife. The all-rounder will not play in the Test series against Sri Lanka due to play IPL.

Bangladesh will play the first ODI against New Zealand on Saturday (March 20). The second ODI of the series is on March 23. Bangladesh will end the ODI series on March 26. The T20 series will start on March 28. The last two matches of the short format series will be played on March 30 and April 1.

Tags :